We only part to meet again. ~John Gay

Today I am interested to know “Why do we miss people?”

If you have a moment on your own, how long before you start missing someone? Not  simply because you find yourself alone, but because your mind starts to wander and think of the people in your life? Those special, important people.

Why do humans have this emotion? What is its purpose? Sometimes it seems like it is simply there to make us feel a little down or sad for a moment. Most of the time I like to think it is to remind us of how lucky we are to have certain people in our lives. Near or far is it a humans was of not forgetting what (who) is important?

For me there seems to be no logic to the people I “miss”. It would make sense to me to miss someone if I hadn’t seen them for a long period of time, or someone that was in my life and then gone, but I don’t??? I seem to miss people the most when I have recently seen them? I can go weeks/months without seeing someone, meet them for a coffee then be missing them the next day? Or I can be in contact with someone all day but still miss them, and want to see them?

Is this just me? Does “Absence make the heart grow fonder” or is it nearer to “Out of sight, out of mind?

To finished off todays random thoughts here are some related quotes, they phase it better than me..

Nothing makes the earth seem so spacious as to have friends at a distance; they make the latitudes and longitudes.  ~Henry David Thoreau

A hug for you means I need you. A kiss for you means I love you. A call for you means I’m missing you ~ Beth Obedoza

Oft in the tranquil hour of night,
When stars illume the sky,
I gaze upon each orb of light,
And wish that thou wert by.
~George Linley

Why can’t we get all the people together in the world that we really like and then just stay together?  I guess that wouldn’t work.  Someone would leave.  Someone always leaves.  Then we would have to say good-bye.  I hate good-byes.  I know what I need.  I need more hellos.  ~Charles M. Schulz

xx

3 thoughts on “We only part to meet again. ~John Gay

Leave a Reply

