The most wasted of all days is one without laughter. ~ E.E. Cummings

So its Friday night and after a long week (yes I know it was only 4 days) rather than going on for a crazy night out I am relaxing in front of the TV searching for something to watch..but not just anything, I am look for something to make me laugh.

Maybe it is because this week has been stressful but I feel the need to laugh or smile. That feeling of when “If I don’t laugh I will cry” well that’s been me this week. In fact laughter within the team I work with, often get us through the most difficult work days. This in turn got me thinking about the benefits of laughter and the importance of it in your life.

We all know it has health benefits; stress relieve, pain relieve etc. but the more important part I think is “social laughter”. Laughing together with friends or a loved one has to be one of the best parts of life, especially when you are laughing so hard you might actually cry, or the moment when someone gets the giggles and you feel like you might never stop.

Last Sunday evening my night went from a lovely one to a memorably funny one for no real reason, other than one of my friends started laughing and intern we all started laughing which continued for best part of 30 mins. My stomach actually hurt after laughing for that long and I had tears of laughter running down my cheeks in the end. I did however instantly felt happier about everything!

Another favourite of mine is when a baby / toddler laughs. It’s so genuine, uncontrolled and special; you cannot help but laugh in return. I love how it is always at the simplest things; like when you “beep” their nose or tickle their toes.

When I think about it; the friends that I am closest too are those that I can really laugh with, those that have the same sense of humour, even if we are laughing at each other’s expense. Though good times and bad I believe a true friend can always make you laugh.

To end todays ramblings I wish I could write a joke or two to so that once you have finished reading you leave with a smile on your face, but unfortunately I am no comedian .

Instead here are my laughter related quotes which I hope will make you smile.

Laughter is the shortest distance between two people.  ~Victor Borge

Laughter gives us distance.  It allows us to step back from an event, deal with it and then move on.  ~Bob Newhart

A laugh is a smile that bursts.  ~Mary H. Waldrip

A friendly look, a kindly smile, one good act, and life’s worthwhile.
— Author Unknown

I am thankful for laughter, except when milk comes out of my nose. ~ Woody Allen

Thankyou to those special people in my life that frequently make me laugh xxx

Leave a Reply

