If nothing ever changed, there’d be no butterflies. ~Author Unknown

Another week has flown by and this time I have been thinking a lot about “change”…the good and the bad.

Time seems to be racing by and as we head towards Christmas again (believe it or not the supermarkets have the Christmas goodies out already…only 15 weeks to go don’t you know) I find myself thinking about where I was this time last year. Nine months in, has 2011 been the year I thought it would be? ….that’s easy to answer NO!

Heading into 2011 I have a number of clear goals:

  1. Plan and go on exciting holiday, somewhere far away with boyfriend
  2. Save up for new house and start planning with boyfriend where we might live
  3. Maybe work a little less and gain a work life balance
  4. Spend more time with family
  5. Get better…after 18 months of being poorly and going in and out of hospital

The reality; here how my goals of above mapped out:

  1. Went away on amazing holiday to Mexico (see photo, it had to be included).. with amazing friend (not boyfriend)
  2. Spent savings on fun things and more shoes J (Boyfriend left)
  3. Worked more to compensate for now being alone
  4. Grandpa died so yes I spent more time with the family but clearly not what I had been planning
  5. In January had an operation and spent next few months trying to adjust to the possibility of a future without children (I won’t go into any of the boring detail).

HOWEVER despite the fact there was a huge difference in direction to my “planned” 2011 I am happy with my life and my current lot. I feel it’s all comes down to how you deal with life changes, and the mind-set that goes along with them. I think this is described well in these quotes below:

If you don’t like something change it; if you can’t change it, change the way you think about it.  ~Mary Engelbreit

When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.  ~Victor Frankl

It is not necessary to change.  Survival is not mandatory. 

So in a roundabout way I have decided most changes are a positive thing or can certainly be viewed that way. For example the changes this year have allowed me to spend a lot more time with old friends and created lots of special memories. While also finding time to enjoyment new hobbies, had there not been significant changes in my life this may not have happened.

On a final note, it is nice to know that even when life throws you a curl ball and things are different to your plan, is doesn’t mean everything has to fundamentally change.  True friends are always there and this year a number of very special people have come back onto my life and that has made it all worth while:

Just because everything is different doesn’t mean anything has changed.  ~Irene Peter

Fingers crossed there is lots of exciting more change around the corner to complete 2011.

Thanks for reading my ramblings

xxx

Some wise words from others on “change”:

Change always comes bearing gifts.  ~Price Pritchett

Time is a dressmaker specializing in alterations.  ~Faith Baldwin

 All changes, even the most longed for, have their melancholy; for what we leave behind us is a part of ourselves; we must die to one life before we can enter another.  ~Anatole France

If you’re in a bad situation, don’t worry it’ll change.  If you’re in a good situation, don’t worry it’ll change.  ~John A. Simone, Sr.

There is a certain relief in change, even though it be from bad to worse!  As I have often found in travelling in a stagecoach, that it is often a comfort to shift one’s position, and be bruised in a new place.  ~Washington Irving

When you are through changing, you are through.  ~Bruce Barton

2 thoughts on “If nothing ever changed, there’d be no butterflies. ~Author Unknown

Leave a Reply

