The way to love anything is to realize that it might be lost – G. K. Chesterton

As I start writing this post I am not sure if it is one that I will end up sharing or just delete. I’m not really sure where I am going to go with it.

Today I have watched two programs both based around what can happen at the point when you first say those three words to someone, “I love you”. I blame these programs for setting my wandering mind off on this path.

I feel I must confess one of these programs is “Dawson’s Creek”, and yes I am watching the re-runs and for my sins I am enjoying it just as much this time around, even though I am no longer  a pained teenager.

During the todays episode the characters awarded themselves 1 point for every time they would say they had been “in love”.  My score – well I would be lucky enough to have 4 points. For that I consider myself to be incredibly lucky. I could look at that and conclude that I am unlucky in love given that I am not longer  with anyone that I have said those words too, however I believe that “Alfred Lord Tennyson” knew what he was talking about when he wrote:

 I hold it true, whate’er befall;
I feel it, when I sorrow most;
‘Tis better to have loved and lost
Than never to have loved at all.

~ Alfred Lord Tennyson’s

While, if I had an option to, I would remove 1 of those 4 from my past I would never wish to change the others. Each time was special, each important and each very different. I do however wish I remembered the moments when I said or heard those words for the first time? On all but one occasion my memory fails me. As a romantic soul I wish I did remember…oh well maybe next time.

I have previously found myself thinking about where does the love go (after), does it just disappear? If they aren’t “the one” does it mean you didn’t really love them?

Based on my personal experience I think if you are lucky, it remains, taking on a different form, but remains still as true. The memories you share will ensure the friendship is a special one. Unfortunately there are times when it seems to vanish; leaving only questions that may never be answered.

Before you think it, yes I do believe I the one (maybe) but only because my Gran told me it is true. She knew my Grandpa was the “the one” after 3 dates. They were married nearly 60 years so if that isn’t true love I don’t know what is.

My final thought on this when you feel it, you should say it. There nothing gained by keeping it bottle up. Get those words out and make sure it is said, keep saying it for as long as you mean it. Whether you think they feel the same or not, what’s the harm? What’s the point in regrets? As they always say, life is too short.

Love is never lost. If not reciprocated, it will flow back and soften and purify the heart ~ Washington Irving

If you are reading this I guess I decided to post it after all. I am not sure if I prefer writing funny more random blogs or more emotional ramblings… something else for me to ponder.

Bye for now xxx

Obviously there are 100’s/ 1000’s of love related quotes out there so I selected a few short but sweet ones for your perusal:

I loved you once, I love you still, I always have, I always will ~Author Unknown

Love is the greatest refreshment in life.  ~Pablo Picasso

Love is a smoke made with the fume of sighs  ~William Shakespeare

Love me when I least deserve it, because that’s when I really need it ~ Swedish Proverb

Love means nothing in tennis, but it’s everything in life  ~Author Unknown

One thought on “The way to love anything is to realize that it might be lost – G. K. Chesterton

Leave a Reply

