A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle ~James Keller

As October  is upon us again in and the winter evenings have returned I have found myself stepping back in to my winter routine. A key part of this seems to be a love for scented candles. There is  little that is currently more relaxing then returning from work to slouch on my couch with a hot cup of tea, watching a favourite TV program while a candle (or 10) burning away in the corner.

While I am sure I am not alone in indulging in this creature comfort I did not realise until recently how many women seem to love them also. While shopping last week, which included hunting for a new candle I took a step back to observe how I was not alone in systematic process of candle selection:  removing a lid from random candle, smelling it, expressing a view on the scent (a smile if you like it, a screwed up nose if not, or maybe for the extremes a “hmmm” or a “oh no”) before returning the lid and moving on to the next one. In total 5 other women were working their way through the candle options.

Now safe in the knowledge that I am not alone it got me thinking “Why do women love scented candles?”

I wonder if there is something inside us finding comfort or fulfilling a need from the scent or aroma we have carefully selected. Last week I learnt of a range of spa treatments and methods involving a “sensory journey” where by you select the oils you wish to be used purely by smell. The companies concept relates back to practises carried out by Aboriginal  Tribes. Stating that the oil you are drawn to directly reflect what your body is in need of; stress relief, reviving etc. This made me question, if there is really some logic behind our candle obsessions?

To continue my investigation I did some “Googling” on the matter and it seems everyone has a different favourite scent, but an individual’s selection does not seem to be random. My limited research seems to back up the theory above that we make our selections based on a need, an emotion or a memory. For me I opt for ones that remind me of Christmas, I guess this is because it is my happiest time of year and anything that remains me of this creates a sense of contentment, relaxation and happiness.

I think I should stop now as I am sure you do not want to hear any more ramblings about candles, but have a think, if you like millions of other people like a scented candle what is your chosen fragrance and why do you feel drawn to it?

Finally before I end with some quotes I would like to say a big thank you to http://pleasedontslowmedown.wordpress.com  for his recent blogs, as well as being an amazing friend his latest blogs have kept me smiling through some very stressful moments…Thank you xxx

Bye for now 🙂

My candle burns at both ends; it will not last the night; but ah, my foes, and oh, my friends – it gives a lovely light! ~Edna St. Vincent Millay

You don’t have to be a wreck. You don’t have to be sick. One’s aim in life should be to die in good health. Just like a candle that burns out ~Jeanne Moreau

How far that little candle throws its beams! So shines a good deed in a naughty world ~William Shakespeare

It is better to light a candle than curse the darkness ~Eleanor Roosevelt

Man loves company – even if it is only that of a small burning candle ~Georg C. Lichtenberg

One thought on “A candle loses nothing by lighting another candle ~James Keller

Leave a Reply

