“It’s really hard to walk in a single woman’s shoes – that’s why you sometimes need really special shoes!”

Is being single a good or bad thing?

This weekend I have been pondering if it a good or a bad thing to be single? Having been on my own for most of 2011 I seem to be settling into the fact it’s just me (and my cat of course). It’s taken a little while as so far I seem to have spent most of my adult life in a relationship but for now I actually seem content.

You would think it is therefore a simple answer to my initial question that right now, for me, being single is good? Yes! But of course nothing with me is that simple as I tend over think and analyse everything , sometimes to my own annoyance (and most of my friend too I am sure).

Being single means I can do whatever I want when I want:

–          Go out with the girls

–          Sleep diagonally across the bed

–          Sleep all day

–          Spend lots of time with my closest friends

–          Go shopping as much as I want

–          Work long hours if I need to

–          Eat what I want

–          Watch the films / TV that I want

The list goes on…

I am aware this makes me seem very selfish but right now it seems to be working out for me just fine. Occasionally in my crazy mind this leads to another question…how long with this last? Surely I am not allowed to be happy and alone? Aren’t we programed to want to be with someone?

I am not saying I don’t miss the obvious comforts and benefits of being with someone.  I still have moments where I would love to be able to share my daily happenings with someone, have a hug at the end of the day or someone to spoil and look after. Somehow however I am finding confront that right now it’s not right for me, at this point on my journey I am meant to be walking alone.

(I should however clarify that my “alone” isn’t exactly “alone”, I have some amazing friends to put up with me on a daily basis, without them I am sure I would not be so happy with my current offering in life).

Maybe, when the time is right someone will once again be special / interesting enough for me to surrender control of the TV remote? Maybe….In the meantime at least knowing that I am happy alone means I don’t have to settle, I can continue as I am until I find someone that is “just right” ~ Goldilocks. No more heart ache, no more arguments and certainly no more tears…it’s just not worth it or required. At some point when the right one appears, as my Gran has told me “I will just know”. So until then I am off to watch more of my favourite films and enjoy sitting around in my comfy clothes and no make-up!

Apologies for today’s ramblings not being very entertaining, maybe some interesting quotes will make up for it?

 

Bye for now… xx

 

In the spirit of “Single Girls” and for some further indulgence here are a number of quotes from one of my favourite programs/ films: Sex and the City:

“Later that day I got to thinking about relationships. There are those that open you up to something new and exotic, those that are old and familiar, those that bring up lots of questions, those that bring you somewhere unexpected, those that bring you far from where you started, and those that bring you back. But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous.”

 “Maybe some women aren’t meant to be tamed. Maybe they just need to run free til they find someone just as wild to run with them.”

“Being single used to mean that nobody wanted you. Now it means you’re pretty sexy and you’re taking your time deciding how you want your life to be and who you want to spend it with.”

“I love you, but I love myself more.”

Traditional Quotes

Sometimes you have to stand alone to prove that you can still stand ~ unknown

Being single doesn’t necessarily mean you’re available. Sometimes you have to put up a sign that says, “Do Not Disturb” on your heart ~ Wiz Khalifa

I would rather sit on a pumpkin and have it all to myself, than be crowded on a velvet cushion.  ~Henry David Thoreau

You will not find a soulmate in the quiet of your room.  You must go to a noisy place and look in the quiet corners.  ~Robert Brault

True silence is the rest of the mind, and is to the spirit what sleep is to the body, nourishment and refreshment.  ~William Penn

Solitude shows us what should be; society shows us what we are.  ~Robert Cecil

Never be afraid to sit awhile and think.  ~Lorraine Hansberry

2 thoughts on ““It’s really hard to walk in a single woman’s shoes – that’s why you sometimes need really special shoes!”

  1. The way I see it is if you can be happy being single, then you’ll really know when the right guy comes along, just like your Gran said. It wont just be a need to depend on someone.

Leave a Reply

