Because I’m worth it ~ L’Oréal

Cooking for one!

So it’s the weekend once again and I am trying to find something to occupy myself with. Unfortunately as I am not too well my option are a little limited to what I can do from home. For a little while now I have wanted to do some baking but then i am de-motivated to do so knowing no one will appreciate it. Don’t get me wrong I have never been a big cook. I have previously limited my activities to a couple of dinner parties or a special meal for two, but being on my own for the last few months has removed those options. After all it is very satisfying to cook someone and know that they genuinely enjoyed it.

This weekend however I decided to have a little word with myself, “Who cares if it’s only for me. It’s still worth it isn’t it”? This then set me off on my little baking mission yesterday.

I have always enjoyed baking since being a child, however since being diagnosed as a Coeliac I find it an extra personal challenge to continue to make good pudding, of course of the gluten free variety.

I was so impressed with yesterday’s efforts I thought I would share then in this post. Maybe I will even volunteer to create some pudding for the Christmas family parties (on that note I am also excited that I have nearly finished my Christmas shopping, I only started yesterday!).

 First I made a lovely Lemon drizzle cake, which even I think it lovely. Perfect with a nice cup of tea.

And then especially at the request of my friend, I have made this fruit crumble, shame about the bad photo. Mr Gill  (pleasedontslowmedown.wordpress.com) I will try and save some for you.

So in summary I have decided, the fact I am only cooking for myself is still sufficient enough reason to cook some yummy foods. The best bit is if I want to eat the cake for breakfast and have cereal for dinner no-one can tell me I am wrong! I am now looking forward to my Sunday lunch of Lasagne followed by fruit crumble.

Happy Sunday!

Bye for now xx

Some quotes about eating alone:

For an adult, eating alone at McDonald’s is admitting a kind of defeat ~ Jonathan Carroll quotes 

I like eating alone. I want to start a chain of restaurants for other people who are like me called ANDYMATS – The Restaurant for the Lonely Person. You get your food and then you take your tray into a booth and watch television. ~ Andy Warhol, ‘The Philosophy of Andy Warhol (From A To B And Back Again)’ (1975)

Oh, the pleasure of eating my dinner alone! ~ Charles Lamb

 We should look for someone to eat and drink with before looking for something to eat and drink, for dining alone is leading the life of a lion or wolf. ~Epicurus

 Sadder than destitution, sadder than a beggar is the man who eats alone in public. Nothing more contradicts the laws of man or beast, for animals always do each other the honor of sharing or disputing each other’s food.~Jean Baudrillard, French philosopher

And it had to be included…

Because I’m worth it ~ L’Oréal.  They may have been talking about hair but I am using this in reference to cake!

5 thoughts on “Because I’m worth it ~ L’Oréal

  1. What do you mean “try” to save me some …. you’d better or I’ll be setting George on you like a bag of yellow post-its. Excellent blogging once again. Making cake / pie / crumble for yourself is one of life’s little pleasures xx

  2. Yum! You never need an excuse to bake, even if it is just for yourself! I find a good trick is freezing cakes in small portions too! And nothing beats cake for breakfast once in a while too! 🙂

Leave a Reply

