As soon go kindle fire with snow, as seek to quench the fire of love with words. ~William Shakespeare

Anyone would think it was fireworks night?!?! Fireworks have been going off all evening, I could have sworn Bonfire night was 5th November?!

“Remember remember the 5th November” and all that…

Don’t get me wrong I am not a grump whom complains about Fireworks being set off for weeks before and after 5th November, in fact I love fireworks. If my cat could talk however I am sure he would be complaining, he must be exhausted being woken from his sleep every few mins. Needless to say he confirms to the stereotype of cats and dogs being scared by fireworks.

For me on the other hand seeing Fireworks always make me smile. There is something magical about them. As well as enjoyment in the moment, Fireworks bring back a lot of fond memories, some very special memories.

When I was younger my Dad would take me to the Leeds Roundhay Park fireworks every year. We would wrap up warm and walk hand in hand to the event. Once there we would lay out our black bin liners (it was always a muddy occasion) and sit and wait with bated breath for them to start (maybe that was just me). As I didn’t get to spend much time with my Dad these are dear memories to me.

A few years later we all went on a family holiday to Disneyland Florida and one night as we watched the Fireworks at Epcot I remember thinking how happy I was. At the time (I was about 10) it was “the best day of my life”.

Fireworks seems to have held firm in my mind to mark happy memories from then on. Years ago I was heading out to the cinema on a date (around this time of the year) and fireworks were going off throughout the night sky. At the time he told me “I arranged them especially for you”, as cheesy as that line was it stayed with me and makes me smile even now. I am lucky enough to have fond thoughts of attending events and bonfire nights in the arms of a loved one. Somehow a Bonfire night can make a very fun and romantic date.

Anyway enough ramblings on Fireworks night and memories, time for the interesting bit (the quotes). Amazingly it is hard to find related quotes so instead I have settled for a few romantic quotes about Fires (tedious link to Bonfires) and a couple about memories.

Bye for now xx

We do not remember days; we remember moments.  ~Cesare Pavese, The Burning Brand

As soon go kindle fire with snow, as seek to quench the fire of love with words.  ~William Shakespeare

Memory… is the diary that we all carry about with us.  ~Oscar Wilde, “The Importance of Being Earnest”

Fire and gunpowder do not sleep together.  ~Proverb

Fire in the heart sends smoke into the head.  ~Proverb

She glances at the photo, and the pilot light of memory flickers in her eyes.  ~Frank Deford

Since the house is on fire let us warm ourselves.  ~Italian Proverb

The most tangible of all visible mysteries – fire.  ~Leigh Hunt

There may be a great fire in our soul, yet no one ever comes to warm himself at it, and the passers-by see only a wisp of smoke.  ~Vincent van Gogh

Leave a Reply

