I argue thee that love is life. And life hath immortality. ~ Emily Dickinson

In the last few months of blogging and quote hunting I have discovered a love for Emily Dickinson and her quotes and poems. Therefore this post is simply a selection of my favourite poems by Emily Dickinson. I hope you like them too.

 

Heart, we will forget him

Heart, we will forget him,
You and I, tonight!
You must forget the warmth he gave,
I will forget the light.

When you have done pray tell me,
Then I, my thoughts, will dim.
Haste! ‘lest while you’re lagging
I may remember him!

 

What If I Say

What if I say I shall not wait?
What if I burst the fleshly gate
And pass, escaped, to thee?

What if I file this mortal off,
See where it hurt me, – that’s enough, –
And wade in liberty?

They cannot take me any more, –
Dungeons may call, and guns implore;
Unmeaning, now, to me

As laughter was an hour ago,
Or laces, or a traveling show,
Or who died yesterday!

 

It’s all I have to bring to-day

It’s all I have to bring to-day,
This, and my heart beside,
This, and my heart, and all the fields,
And all the meadows wide.
Be sure you count, should I forget, –
Someone the sum could tell, –
This, and my heart, and all the bees
Which in the clover dwell.

 

That I did always love

That I did always love,
I bring thee proof:
That till I loved
I did not love enough.

That I shall love always,
offer thee
That love is life,
And life hath immortality.

This, dost thou doubt, sweet?
Then have I
Nothing to show
But Calvary.

 

2 thoughts on “I argue thee that love is life. And life hath immortality. ~ Emily Dickinson

  1. I have just nominated you for “The Versatile Blogger” award. For additional information, please refer to my latest post on this subject. Congratulations and God Bless. !!! Michael.

    • Thank you very much, its really very kind of you. I will have to think about the 15 other people I need to acknowledge (if that’s how it works) I don’t think I follow 15 blogs in total… I am really pleased you included me in your list. I take pleasure from writing my blog but never expected people would like reading it! You will definately be on the list once I get it together- I really like reading each of your blogs. Thanks again, Sarah.

Leave a Reply

