At Christmas, all roads lead home ~ Marjorie Holmes

I should start this post by acknowledging that I am aware that it is only the 3rd of December however I cannot hide my excitement any longer! I am simply delighted that  Christmas is coming! Its official on its way, I have seen the Coca Cola advert and X-Factor is nearly over and I have started my advent calendar (I might be 27 but it would not be the same without one).

As much as I enjoy the warm summer months and dislike the cold that comes with winter, winter will always win hands down in my book. Purely for the simple reason that  it includes Christmas… I love it. My love for Christmas isn’t even for the day itself, it’s the entire build up. December is full of fun; the Christmas lights, extra gatherings with friends, decorating the house, shopping for presents… the list goes on.

As I assume I will continue to blog about my excitement for Christmas for the rest of the month, I will start slowly, ending the post here.  Maybe a few Christmas quotes will help get someone else in the spirit…or maybe it’s still a little too early.

Xxx

“Remember
This December,
That love weighs more than gold!”
~ Josephine Dodge Daskam Bacon

“A little smile, a word of cheer,
A bit of love from someone near,
A little gift from one held dear,
Best wishes for the coming year.”
~ John Greenleaf Whittier

“Gifts of time and love are surely the basic ingredients of a truly merry Christmas.” ~ Peg Bracken

“And the Grinch, with his Grinch-feet ice cold in the snow, stood puzzling and puzzling, how could it be so? It came without ribbons. It came without tags. It came without packages, boxes or bags. And he puzzled and puzzled ’till his puzzler was sore. Then the Grinch thought of something he hadn’t before. What if Christmas, he thought, doesn’t come from a store. What if Christmas, perhaps, means a little bit more.” ~ Dr Seuss

“One of the most glorious messes in the world is the mess created in the living room on Christmas day. Don’t clean it up too quickly.”
~ Andy Rooney

“Are you willing to believe that love is the strongest thing in the world – stronger than hate, stronger than evil, stronger than death – and that the blessed life which began in Bethlehem nineteen hundred years ago is the image and brightness of the Eternal Love? Then you can keep Christmas.” ~ Henry Van Dyke

2 thoughts on “At Christmas, all roads lead home ~ Marjorie Holmes

  1. It’s never ever too soon, I had an Xmas CD on in the car last night …. now where did I get that from??! xx

Leave a Reply

