There is just one life for each of us: our own ~Euripides

As we approach the last few weeks of 2011 I guess most of us cannot but help to reflect on the year behind us……

I could attempt to summaries the year from an economic / political view point but that itself would take an age and to be honest I wouldn’t know where to start. Therefore I am going to take a personal look back on the year.

If I look at the hard facts, 2011 seems like a bad year; my long term relationship ended, we lost a core member of the family and I have remained unwell for the majority of it. However looking at it in a new light 2011 had a lot of positives for me personally and doesn’t seem to have been that unkind after all.

–      At work I have progressed well & enjoy most days J. More importantly I believe I have formed some strong relationships and new friends have come into my life as a result of changes here.

–      The loss of a family member reminded me of the extended family I have around me, it was wonderful to catch-up with people I haven’t seen it years (shame about the circumstances).

–      I have spent more quality time with my brother since he returned from his studies and I always have such fun with him around.

–      The split of my relationship has seen one of my best friends in the whole world come back to me. This is something I hope I will never loss again and will be doing all I can to keep hold of him (..and his great tea making skills).

–      I took the best holiday of my life with a close friend. As I got on the plane I worried that it might be a step too far for our friendship. However 11 nights later I returned after failing in love with the resort in Mexico and knowing our friendship was one I could always rely on.

–      I found time for me…

As selfish as it sounds the best thing that happened for me this year is that I had time to work on me, I feel I have been given the chance to return to who I am, love the ones I love and enjoy the things I want to do. After a few years of being unsure I am back to liking little old me just for who I am..the relationship you have with yourself is one of the most important and I am glad to feel like I am back. That said I couldn’t have done it without all the friends and support around me; old and new and that’s what 2011 will always mean to me!

Don’t get me wrong all of this does nothing to replace the family member we lost, but even that enormous lost should not allow the positives should not be over looked.

As for the new year, as greedy as it maybe I hope a little more love is around the corner but who knows what is in store for me or anyone….

Let’s hope 2012 is a good year for everyone!

xxx

Today’s quotes are about the about relationship you have with yourself, I will come back with a separate post with quotes for 2011.

To be nobody but yourself in a world which is doing its best, night and day, to make you everybody else means to fight the hardest battle which any human being can fight; and never stop fighting.  ~e.e. cummings, 1955

But the most exciting, challenging and significant relationship of all is the one you have with yourself. And if you can find someone to love the you you love, well, that’s just fabulous. ~ Sex and the City

Always be a first-rate version of yourself, instead of a second-rate version of somebody else.  ~Judy Garland

He who trims himself to suit everyone will soon whittle himself away.  ~Raymond Hull

Wherever you go, go with all your heart.  ~Confucius

Never apologize for showing feeling.  When you do so, you apologize for the truth.  ~Benjamin Disraeli

8 thoughts on “There is just one life for each of us: our own ~Euripides

  1. yes it is another year and I search and analyzed every thing happened to me for this year … and hoping more positive things happen this coming year … thank u for sharing inspiring quotes … it brings positive feelings for me… 🙂

Leave a Reply

