Someone is Missing at Christmas ~ Anne Cochran

Is anyone else worried about how quickly December is flying by; 10 days have passed since my last blog and it’s now only 3 day 9 hours until Christmas…how did it sneak up on us so quickly. 

My Christmas plans are now in full swing; the family Christmas get together has come and gone. The family has attended the church carol service and the last of the present are wrapped. In theory my Christmas cheer should be sky high, however it’s not. 

For some reason, over the past 48 hours, when I think of the big day ahead all I can think about is the are the faces will be missing this year… Some of those faces are family who have left us in 2011 or years before this, while others are friends that have moved or simply cannot be around this Christmas time.

 In the busyness of Christmas it is hard to stop and remember the important parts of Christmas, putting aside the food, drink and the presents. The most importantly Christmas is a time to make the most of those around you. To treasure the time you share and to make memories that you can cherish for the years to come. If I have learnt anything in this last year, the scary thing is that, those you spend this Christmas with may not be there next year. However on a positive note if this year there are loved ones that cannot be with us for other reasons; distance, location or situation we can but hope that next year they will be right by our sides.

 Apologies for it not being a smiley cheerful blog, but today I wanted to take a little step back, remember what is really important and ensure I make the most of the important things in live.

 To those that won’t be with me this Christmas you will certainly not be forgotten, you will be in our thoughts always.

 To finish this postI have found a few quotes about Christmas and love ones and some of the quotes cover both.

 xxx 

Christmas is the day that holds all time together ~Alexander Smith

 There is love of course. And then there’s life, its enemy ~ Jean Anouilh

 Christmas is a time when you get homesick – even when you’re home  ~Carol Nelson

 Ever has it been that love knows not its own depth until the hour of separation ~ Kahlil Gibran

 The way to love anything is to realize that it might be lost ~ G. K. Chesterton

 Isn’t it funny that at Christmas something in you gets so lonely for – I don’t know what exactly, but it’s something that you don’t mind so much not having at other times.  ~Kate L. Bosher

 “Distance never separates two hearts that really care, for our memories span the miles and in seconds we are there. But whenever I start feeling sad, because I miss you, I remind myself how lucky I am to have someone so special to miss”

 He who has not Christmas in his heart will never find it under a tree.  ~Roy L. Smith

 This is the message of Christmas:  We are never alone.  ~Taylor Caldwell

One thought on “Someone is Missing at Christmas ~ Anne Cochran

  1. I think that’s partly why I’m feeling less Christmassy this year…because I’ve not had the run up of Christmassy things with the friends that I spent the last few years with. I suppose we just have to keep on making new traditions based on the people around us at the time! 🙂

Leave a Reply

