Just because it’s Christmas (and at Christmas you tell the truth) ~ Love Actually

One final pre-Christmas post… number of sleeps until Santa arrives zero! Only 2 hours, 19 mins and a few seconds left. If you happen to be tracking his progress he will be someone over Novgorod, Russia right now…oh yes there is an app for everything.

 

With so little time left I assume everyone is now super excited and will be struggling to get to sleep tonight in anticipation of the day tomorrow? I have completed my final bits of wrapping, sat down to watch a Christmas film or two and eat yet another mince pie.  Something however is a little unsettled in my mind, it seem to be darting around quicker than Santa and his Reindeer with every min that passes.  The cause for my anxiety I can simply not pin point, I am a little worried about how Santa will manage to deliver my presents (as I don’t have a chimney but since I live in a flat on the top follow maybe he can just use the sky light), but I am pretty confident that is not the main cause…anyway enough about that.

Before I head off to bed I have one final pre-Christmas tradition to complete, I have to watch Love Actually (I may struggle as I haven’t found it on Sky and I don’t own the DVD but I won’t give up yet). This for me is a little tradition of mine, the film always makes me smile, often cry but I definitely end up feeling ready for Christmas and all warm inside. If anyone asked me why I love it I would answer because it reminds me that Christmas is about love (if you are very lucky). While it is a simple film in its essence, it covers stories of characters  “falling in love, falling out of love, some are with right people, some are with the wrong people, some are looking to have an affair, some are in the period of mourning; a capsule summary of reality. Love begins and love ends” and that for me is what Christmas is all about. My all-time favourite part; where Mark tells Juliet how much he loves her…

“Say its carol singers

With any luck, by next year

I will be going out with one of these girls…

but for now let me say,

Without hope or agenda,

just because it’s Christmas-

(and at Christmas you tell the truth)

to me you are perfect

and my wasted heart will love you

until you look like this…

Merry Christmas”

In line with this thought I am going to finish this random Christmas post with some final thoughts …Just because it’s Christmas (and at Christmas you tell the truth)…

  • Mince pies are amazing!
  • Christmas dinner in over rated (before you comment…try having  a gluten free version)
  • The Queens speech is worth watching
  • I miss my friends that I haven’t seen this Christmas (London is just too far away)
  • The Muppets Christmas carol- is the best version of a Christmas Carol
  • This guy’s blog is the best Christmas blog going and the best friend a girl can ask for: http://pleasedontslowmedown.wordpress.com/
  • Christmas day is always a little bit sad
  • It wouldn’t be the same without an argument
  • You have to play a family board game- otherwise it’s not Christmas
  • The best thing to drink at a Christmas party is tea
  • This Christmas I feel like something is missing
  • The day will pass to quickly…

For anyone reading this I hope you have a brilliant Christmas and enjoy all the festive cheer! If anyone is hoping for some nice presents I hope you get what you asked Santa for (assuming you have been good this year). I am really hoping a get a really great guy…ideally good looking, good job, nice family, completely in love with me…no batteries required….hmm somehow I can’t see this happening.

Xxx

For the last time this Christmas here are some Christmas quotes (I wonder if I will still be writing a blog this time next year??):

Christmas gift suggestions: to your enemy, forgiveness. To an opponent, tolerance. To a friend, your heart. To a customer, service. To all, charity. To every child, a good example. To yourself, respect. ~Oren Arnold

Christmas waves a magic wand over this world, and behold, everything is softer and more beautiful.  ~Norman Vincent Peale

Christmas is love in action. Every time we love, every time we give, it’s Christmas. ~ Dale Evans

Christmas is not a time or a season but a state of mind. To cherish peace and good will, to be plenteous in mercy, is to have the real spirit of Christmas. ~Calvin Coolidge

Blessed is the season which engages the whole world in a conspiracy of love!  ~Hamilton Wright Mabie

From home to home, and heart to heart, from one place to another
The warmth and joy of Christmas, brings us closer to each other. ~Emily Matthews

Happy, happy Christmas, that can win us back to the delusions of our childish days; that can recall to the old man the pleasures of his youth; that can transport the sailor and the traveller, thousands of miles away, back to his own fire-side and his quiet home!  ~Charles Dickens, The Pickwick Papers, 1836

Christmas is for children. But it is for grown-ups too. Even if it is a headache, a chore, and nightmare, it is a period of necessary defrosting of chill and hide-bound hearts. ~Lenora Mattingly Weber

I will honor Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year.  ~Charles Dickens

10 thoughts on “Just because it’s Christmas (and at Christmas you tell the truth) ~ Love Actually

  1. Thank you lovely lady. You are far too excellent xxx
    P.s. Mince pies = vom
    Although I agree with the muppets xmas carol

  2. I really enjoyed this post and agree with everything apart from the mince pies! Bleurgh! I’d like a really great guy too…but I’m not sure Santa delivers people, and they probably wouldn’t fit in our stockings anyway 😦 Haha.
    Now I’m off to snuggle up in bed and watch Love Actually til I fall asleep! Merry Christmas! x

    • I failed to watch it, I couldn’t find it any where. I am going to attempt to get the DVD from someone today. Hope you have a great day. Xxx ps it’s a great shame Santa can’t deliver people he should really look into that. However imagine is someone asked Santa for you and you got delivered somewhere on Christmas eve?? Hmm that would cause problems xx

      • I fell asleep a quarter of the way in. It continued to play and must have played on repeat, as I awoke again around 6 with the DVD still playing lol! Hope you managed to get a copy from somewhere. Haha that idea just made me laugh. Imagine the chaos that would be caused if Santa did deliver people. People would wake up all over the world totally confused as to where they are. It might result in a few very happily ever after stories though! xx

      • Sorry my reply took so long, I blame the Christmas festivities. I did indeed find a copy on DVD only to then find it on sky. It was an magical as always and I send a tear at the same points I alway do.
        In regards to delivering people, it would cause more than chaos, imagine being delivered to the other side of the world and not being at home for Christmas day? What if you hated the person that wished for you? What if more than one person asked Santa for you how would that work?? Or worse you realised no-one was asking Santa for you?? Maybe Santa knows what he is doing when he refused to deliver people as Christmas gifts xx

        Hope you had a great Christmas xx

Leave a Reply

