Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would I’d never leave. ~A.A. Milne

Where is the good in goodbye? ~Meredith Willson, The Music Man An interesting question if you ask me and something I have been randomly thinking about today. Is there such a thing as a positive (good) goodbye?? Is it always sad to see someone for a last time or to close the door on something? My end conclusion is in some situations yes…but certainly not all.

Today I waved goodbye to a dear friend, not a friend I have known for years but a good friend none the less. You know the type; when you meet and for some there is a connection. A friendship that doesn’t really need time to grow, it is more instant, it doesn’t need memories and experiences, just a couple of things in common and understanding (in this case a random lack of interest in food).

I have only known this person for 2 years, yet they will leave a lasting impression and someone I will always think of fondly. While the goodbye is sad on my part, it is certainly a happy goodbye for him -off to start a new adventure with the family on the other side of the world; what an exciting and fun way to start 2012 (honest I am not jealous…much)! So I guess in some way it is a happy goodbye for me too…knowing he is off to start a new chapter. My only sadness is that I don’t think he will ever know how true a friend I consider him to be….fingers crossed Skype works its magic and we stay in touch.

In keeping with my belief that quotes say it better than I ever could I have picked a favourite to sum up my above ramblings…

Goodbyes are not forever.
Goodbyes are not the end.
They simply mean I’ll miss you
Until we meet again!
~Author Unknown

There is then the more obvious goodbye that is creeping up on us all; waving farewell to 2011! Will you be sad to see that door close? Or find comfort in it coming to an end? I think I am pretty 50:50 2011 had its highs and lows. 2011 for me contains some of the best memories and the worst of my years to date.

On the whole I am looking forward to waving goodbye to 2011 and seeing the start of 2012, sometimes as sad as it can be to say goodbye and close the door on something/someone it has to be done to allow you to move on and make that fresh start. As as a final thought wouldn’t it be good if there was a “New Year’s fairy” that would could send a wish list to for the year ahead? Like a Santa but for the New Year…anyway I am sure I will be back again with more thoughts on the New Year.

To end todays post rather than pick some quotes I thought I would take a leaf out of http://pleasedontslowmedown.wordpress.com/ book and quote the lyrics song that I seem very drawn to of late…don’t ask me why…I am not sure I know.

Bye for now..xxx

“Come Home”~ One Republic

Hello world
Hope you’re listening
Forgive me if I’m young
For speaking out of turn
There’s someone I’ve been missing
I think that they could be
The better half of me
They’re in the wrong place trying to make it right
But I’m tired of justifying
So I say to you..

Come home
Come home
Cause I’ve been waiting for you
For so long
For so long
And right now there’s a war between the vanities
But all I see is you and me
The fight for you is all I’ve ever known
So come home
Oh

I get lost in the beauty
Of everything I see
The world ain’t as half as bad
As they paint it to be
If all the sons
If all the daughters
Stopped to take it in
Well hopefully the hate subsides and the love can begin
It might start now..Yeah
Well maybe I’m just dreaming out loud
Until then

Come home
Come home
Cause I’ve been waiting for you
For so long
For so long
And right now there’s a war between the vanities
But all I see is you and me
The fight for you is all I’ve ever known
Ever known
So come home
Oh

Everything I can’t be
Is everything you should be
And that’s why I need you here
Everything I can’t be
Is everything you should be
And that’s why I need you here
So hear this now

Come home
Come home
Cause I’ve been waiting for you
For so long
For so long
And right now there’s a war between the vanities
But all I see is you and me
The fight for you is all I’ve ever known
Ever known
So come home
Come home

3 thoughts on “Promise me you’ll never forget me because if I thought you would I’d never leave. ~A.A. Milne

  1. I don’t think many goodbyes can be good. Not to say that they have to be bad. Often they will be for happy reasons, but they will more often than not at least be slightly tinged in sadness for one person. We just have to always look out for the positive things, like when we’ll next see them or how to keep in touch etc.

  2. I ask this also to myself when someone bid goodbye … where is the good in goodbye? although the truth is mostly it is painful and mostly hard to accept but if I look back I saw that it is for the better for both of us, now we are still friends …

Leave a Reply

