A hug is worth a thousand words. ~Author Unknown

 

It’s been a long time since I have bored you with some of my ramblings but the good news is I am back? Or is that bad news? I have struggled over the last few weeks to be inspired to write/ramble, unable to think of a topic or something of interesting. Unfortunately I haven’t thought of anything interesting as yet but do have some thoughts to share today…I am hoping to have more time to start blogging properly soon. 

Is it just me or has anyone else ever found themselves hugging themselves??? It’s an interesting idea I know but during a couple of low moments this week I have found myself doing exactly that..folding my arms and hugging myself –weird! You might think this makes me a very sad a lonely individual but it’s a good thing, it instantly makes me feel better- bonus! It has however made me realise (that an a few tears that forced their way forward and squeezing their way out my tear ducks-damn them!) that I am not coping too well with my current life challenges. 

This got me thinking about how lovely a perfect hug is; I have several friend who are able to provide an exceptional hug (you know who you are) I honestly do not think there is an action or word that is more supportive then a good hug. If you can deliver a unique squeeze even better!! What makes a good hug? Genuine love and care, without sounding crazy it’s like they are passing you a positive energy of kind thoughts. In a hug you can tell if someone someone cares. I think this little poem sums it up perfectly:

 

There’s something in a simple hug
That always warms the heart,
It welcomes us back home
And makes it easier to part….
~Johnny Ray Ryder, Jr., “A Simple Hug”

 

Don’t get me wrong it’s not all bad at the moment and in general I like to consider myself a pretty strong person. If I get knocked down at worst I try and pick myself up the next day but at the moment I seem to be hitting a brick wall..(it’s been 2 days). The week ahead will not be a fun one for me, I am yet again (only 12 months on from the last) facing an operation, it’s not hugely serious but serious enough for me..it’s not that I am scared of hospitals or worried about the procedure/ needles or anesthetic but all the same I have an overwhelming anxious feeling. I will admit I am scared of the recovery time, last time it took me 4 weeks to recover with the first 2.5 weeks being filled with pain and feeling vulnerable and child like all over again (walking, standing, bathing suddenly becomes an issue). On a positive note my friends are all being amazing and making me feel very loved with the offers of homemade chilli’s, DVD nights and lots of hugs and cups of tea! Almost sounds fun I know.

 I am hoping I can turn this into a positive thing, if I can deal with this alone I am have cracked this being independent thing! Destiny’s Child would be proud! Anyhow, fingers crossed for a good day tomorrow, I am determined to get back on my feet and tackle this “issue” head on…as they say “What doesn’t kill you makes you stronger!”.

 Anyway enough ramblings for now but as soon as I am able I will be back to blogging, however forgive me if it is focused on; the number of cups of tea I have consumed, DVD’s, books and knitting (it might be more entertaining than the above).

 Virtual hugs to everyone reading this!

 Finally back to the good bit the quotes:

 A hug is like a boomerang – you get it back right away.  ~Bil Keane, “Family Circus”

 Your hugs and kisses are like the stars that light up my life when things get dark.  ~Author Unknown

 They invented hugs to let people know you love them without saying anything ~ Bil Keane

You can’t wrap love in a box, but you can wrap a person in a hug.  ~Author Unknown

 No matter how hard you hug your money, it never hugs back.  ~Quoted in P.S. I Love You, compiled by H. Jackson Brown, Jr.

 A hug delights and warms and charms,
that must be why God gave us arms.
~Author Unknown

 A hug is a great gift – one size fits all, and it’s easy to exchange.  ~Author Unknown

 A hug is a handshake from the heart.  ~Author Unknown

If you’re angry at a loved one, hug that person.  And mean it.  You may not want to hug – which is all the more reason to do so.  It’s hard to stay angry when someone shows they love you, and that’s precisely what happens when we hug each other.  ~Walter Anderson, The Confidence Course, 1997

 

2 thoughts on “A hug is worth a thousand words. ~Author Unknown

  1. yes you are right in here, nothing can compare to a purest hug from someone who is sincere to give it to you, it reminds me of my mom’s hug, hoping you feel better soon… sending lots of hugs… 🙂

Leave a Reply

