I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love. ~ The Vow (2012)

Today, due to a change of plan and my body refusing to do anything but lie on the sofa and watch TV while demanding endless painkillers I sat and watched ‘The Vow’ (inspired by a true story).

If you haven’t seen the film it’s about a married couple who are in a car accident. Unfortunately this leads to the leading lady Paige (Rachel McAdams) being in a coma, and when she wakes up with severe memory loss, she has forgotten that she is married, forgotten the last few years of her live and most heart-breaking part is that she has forgotten how much she loves her husband Leo (Channing Tatum).

The plot of the film is whether the couple can find their way back to each other. If she does not recall that she loved him or even why, can they find a way to fall in love all over again? Is it more possible that they may fall back in love if it is a ‘once in a life time love’?

This got my little brain wondering, is it possible to fall in love with the same person all over again? Whether you are starting with a blank page or have each memory stored away is it possible? Is there even such a thing as a ‘once in a life time love’? If it is possible to find that chemistry and emotion again, would it be the same?

Given a choice would you even want it to be the same or would you want it to be new (with a little sprinkle of comfort that only a history can bring)? Even if it is possible, is it worth the risk that it wouldn’t be better than the first time?

Without spoiling the plot the film reaches a point where it all seems impossible and Leo asks ‘How do you look at the girl you love and tell yourself it’s time to walk away? ‘.  After all when you fall in love with someone you never imagine there will come a moment that you will walk away from them, I can only assume this is even hard if you have vowed to love them forever.

Anyway I am not 100% sure where this random post is going and I do not think it is fair to spoil the plot any further. I wrote this with the purpose of sharing the parts of the film that for me were thought provoking while also using it as an excuse to post some of the quotes I really liked from the film. I enjoyed the film, it wasn’t an epic love story but it was enjoyable for a rainy day and it kept the romantic in me happy.

Laters, J

(Oh yes I have just finished reading Fifty Shades Freed and I am already missing taking Christian to bed at night)

Xxx

Quotes from the film; The Vow (2012)

My Favourite – Life’s all about moments of impact, and how they change our lives forever. But what if one day you could no longer remember any of them? ~ Leo

I vow to help you love life, to always hold you with tenderness and to have the patience that love demands, to speak when words are needed and to share the silence when they are not and to live within the warmth of your heart and always call it home.~ Paige

I vow to fiercely love you in all your forms, now and forever. I promise to never forget that this is a once in a lifetime love. ~ Leo

I vow to love you, and no matter what challenges might carry us apart, we will always find a way back to each other. ~ Leo

I chose to stay with him for all the things he’s done right; not the one thing he’s done wrong. I chose to forgive him. ~ Rita Thornton

I’ll always love you. The fact is, you’re just meeting me and I’m just a stranger. ~ Leo

Leave a Reply

