30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

Before anyone immediately clicks away and thinking this is the wrong blog todays post is going to be a little different. I found the idea on another blog that I have found very useful and has helped me a lot recently. There was something about the idea and the old theory that ‘knowledge is power’ that made me want to write this. After all if more people talk about their health issues it will reduce the taboo nature of it. I have found the more I have spoken to people the more supported I feel and sometime love and support is all you need….

Anyway like it or not this is todays post, normal service will resume next time.

30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

1. The illness I live with is: Adenomyosis
2. I was diagnosed with it in the year: 2011
3. But I had symptoms since: 2010 (possible as far back as 1998 but not significant)
4. The biggest adjustment I’ve had to make is: Learning not to blame/dislike myself
5. Most people assume: That it only bothers me now and again.
6. The hardest part about mornings are: Adjusting to the pain when I first wake up
7. My favorite medical TV show is: House
8. A gadget I couldn’t live without is: iPhone
9. The hardest part about nights are: Trying to sleep or if I am upset being alone
10. Each day I take 1- 16 pills & vitamins.
11. Regarding alternative treatments I: am part way through a course of Prostap injections (each one lasting 6 months) and have a Mirena coil fitted
12. If I had to choose between an invisible illness or visible I would choose: invisible (it gives me the option to try and hide it from people).
13. Regarding working and career: I enjoy my job.
14. People would be surprised to know: How much time I really enjoy my work.
15. The hardest thing to accept about my new reality has been: Upsetting my family and feeling like I am letting them down.
16. Something I never thought I could do with my illness that I did was: Kept fighting it.
17. The commercials about my illness: Private health care is expensive…I am a ‘Pay as you go’ customer.
18. Something I really miss doing since I was diagnosed is: Being able to make plans and know I can stick to them.
19. It was really hard to have to give up: My freedom (it can be a little restrictive)
20. A new hobby I have taken up since my diagnosis is: knitting (but only in the winter)
21. If I could have one day of feeling normal again I would: Have a baby (if you could do that in a day)
22. My illness has taught me: That life is tough but you just have to keep going, other people cope with far worse.
23. Want to know a secret? One thing people say that gets under my skin is: ‘I have really bad period pains’ (does that make me a horrid person).
24. But I love it when people: give me a hug (and say nothing).
25. My favorite motto, scripture, quote that gets me through tough times is: Faith is taking the first step even when you don’t see the whole staircase – Martin Luther King, Jr.
26. When someone is diagnosed I’d like to tell them: The truth, it’s not an easy ride and I wish someone had been there to tell me the reality.
27. Something that has surprised me about living with an illness is: That dealing with it as a single person has been easier than trying to do it with someone that wasn’t right for me.
28. The nicest thing someone did for me when I wasn’t feeling well was: Make me a cup of tea (or ten).
29. I’m involved with Invisible Illness Week because: I found this idea on someone elses blog when looking for guidance/information.
30. The fact that you read this list makes me feel: Apologetic (because it was a little boring)

12 thoughts on “30 Things About My Invisible Illness You May Not Know

  1. Hi, how are you? it such a long time since my last visit here, I am so proud of your positivity in all things, I am not bored in reading it in fact I find it very inspiring and uplifting…. take care and God Bless….

Leave a Reply

